Nicaragua at Last!

Standard

Hello to the few blog readers I have!  Clearly I am not very good about keeping the world updated, considering in my last post I was in Spain, and I have been in 6 new countries since then.  Either way, let us skip ahead to the here and now.  The here: a neighborhood called Nejapa on the outskirts of Managua, Nicaragua.  The now: coming close to the end of my second week here. 

Nejapa is different from anywhere I have been before, but for some reason it was easy to feel at home right away.  Like any girl from middle-class USA life, I was a little concerned about how I would react to showering outside or with a bucket, going to the bathroom in a latrine, and sleeping under a mosquito net.  I instantly learned that none of this stuff is a big deal.  Other than the fact that it is really difficult to wash shampoo out of your hair with a bowl rather that a shower spigot, this way of life is simpler but somehow more relaxing.  Even though I am constantly occupied, I don’t feel like I am running a marathon while balancing six spinning plates in order to accomplish everything I want to do that day.

My favorite part of the day is when I get to go home and see Manolo, the 2ish month old puppy of my host family.  Other than that, I do really enjoy my host family and neighbors.  Cameron and I went over to our neighbors/grandmas/cousins house and played guitar and violin for them, and Carlos (my new co-volunteer worker and cousin) told me that they are now my fans. 

I have spent most of my time working in the office at AMOS, but next week I am going to be joining a delegation out in the campo to work on a water filter project, and hopefully do some music interviews and surveys.  Here is a nifty video of the biosand water filters that we will be working with.  I am slightly nervous about the translating that I will be doing, but I figure that I am creative so if I don’t understand I can at least fabricate some good things to tell people…

 
 
 
 

One thought on “Nicaragua at Last!

Leave a Reply

