Semana 4

Standard

Today marks the fourth week I have spent in Spain! It is amazing to think I have been here for so long, seen so much, and learned a ton. It is also amazing that I have barely been here any time at all, have hardly dipped my toe into the city that is Sevilla, and have SO MUCH more to learn. Here are some of my highlights thus far.

1. Food. Always a highlight in my life, wherever I go. Mostly, I am hoping to learn how to cook the tortilla española a delicious egg and potato pancake

2. The River. I love walking across a river today, and constantly being reminded of how amazing the world really is. Water does that to me. Not to mention that the particular stretch of rio I live by is perfect for rowing, kayaking, and dragon boats, so there is always something fun to watch.

3. Music. It is everywhere, as it should be. Accordion on the bridge, violinists downtown, entire bands outside of the cathedral, amazing organ players at the Cathedral church service, the University of Sevilla choir, salsa clubs…the list goes on forever! It is incredible to be somewhere where music is such a natural part of everyday life.

4. Exploring. Everyday, new adventures and places to see, monuments to visit, architecture to discover. I just spent an amazing afternoon biking around Sevilla, and I cannot wait to explore more of this lovely city.

5. Learning. I am learning a lot about myself. Thats what packing up and going somewhere new does to a person. I also am learning a lot about Spanish )and how hard it is), learning about the people I am meeting, and generally learning about another way of life.

The thing is, it’s hard to put the experience into words or separate it into moments. I’ve had my fair share of ups and downs, and could probably graph out my stages of culture shock if someone asked me to. Thus far, my time in Sevilla has been incredible, and I couldn’t ask for me. Here’s to me asking for more of myself and taking in new challenges each day.

20140222-225719.jpg

Estaba en España 4 semanas. Que maravilloso estar aquí por un tiempo tan largo. He visto mucho y tenía muchas experiencias nuevas. Al mismo tiempo, hay tantos cosas necesito aprender y hacer durante mi semestre aquí. Tenemos algunos cosas que son mis favoritos:

1. La comida. Siempre es un parte de vida me encanta. Más de todo, quiero aprender cómo cocinar la tortilla española. ¡Que rico!

2. El río. Me gusta andar cerca el río cada día. Es siempre bonita, y siento una mezcla de nostalgia y experiencias nuevas porque vivo cerca del río en los Estados Unidos. Este parte del río siempre tiene barcos y kayaks y es muy interesante ver.

3. La música. Siempre hay música. Donde hay gente, la música esta. Me encanta este mentalidad. Hay acordionos, violinistas, guitarras, bandas, baile por todos lados. Me gustar quedar donde la música es parte de la vida cafa día.

4. La exploración. Cada día, hago algo nuevo o diferente. Cada día entender un parte nueva de la cultura, o probar una comida nueva, o conocer personas diferentes. ¡Quiero explorar más de la ciudad!

5. Aprender. Aprendí sobre mi misma. Aprendí sobre la ciudad. Aprendí partes del español. Estoy aprendiendo cada momento, y siempre hay más aprender.

Mi vida en España es diferente que pensaba, pero es tan bueno. No puedo explicarla en palabras, especialmente en español. Había algunos momentos difíciles y momentos buenísimas. Mi tiempo aquí es increíble, y creo que es una bendición estar en Sevilla.

Leave a Reply

